I received a postcard from the North Carolina Secretary of State informing me it was time to file my annual report on my LLC (read “give us $205″). They let me know that I could easily file by visiting www.sos.nc.com. But when I visit the site I immediately feel like I’ve been duped by a spammer posing as an official government office. The site is riddled with links to pages serving up nothing but Overture ads for high dollar phrases such as “North Carolina Real Estate”. Burried in the middle of the page is a link to “NC LLC/LLP ANNUAL REPORTS” which links out to www.sosnc.com. Note the domain name sosnc.com.

So it seems that the owner of nc.com has taken advantage of the fact that the NC Secretary of State misprints their URL on the thousands of post cards they send out. Or perhaps NC.com had someone inside the state government to purposely misprint the card. Hmmm.


Share it:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • DZone
  • Ma.gnolia
  • Netscape
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • YahooMyWeb